Skilled Migration

"Skilled Migration" - What is it?

Migration means to move or travel. Skilled Migration? Simple!!!! It means your contribution of work plays a vital role in the economic development of a country.

Simply saying - Adding to the Economy.

Now let us go for a small journey about the General Skilled Migration to Australia.

Yes anybody whose travel is going to be beneficial to the economic development of a country is called as a Skilled Migration and it varies in different scenarios.

The General Skilled Migration (GSM) program is for people who move individually with their skills in occupations that a country needs to fill labour shortages. This is much welcomed in Australia. Applicants should be good speakers of English and the age limit is between 18 and 49. They must also have skilled work experience or a recently learned eligible Australian qualification for an occupation listed on Australia's Skilled Occupation List (SOL).

Most important point to be noted is that the age limits which is a maximum of under age 50.

The recent announcement in the Immigration Ministry and Citizenship is that Perth is to be added in the Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS).

1. Perth is included as a regional area for family Sponsored application in the Regional Skilled Migration Scheme.

2. Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS) includes regional postcodes for Perth.

The Visa processing has been prioritized to increase the economy in the current required skills. They target the industries which are in need of skilled migration to meet the economic sectors.

The New list of Skilled Occupation List (SOL) has 13 new occupations added and 4 removed.

Priority of Visa Processing

The Regional Skilled Visas will be processed at high priority and grouped as per the requirement.

This updated process is applicable for the below Visas

1. Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS) - These people get the First Priority Group
2. Employer Nomination Scheme (ENS) - Second Priority Group
3. Certain General Skilled Migration (GSM) - The General Skilled and the people nominated by the state or territory government as prioritized under the Third Group.
4. People listed in the Schedule 1 Skilled Occupation List are grouped as four and the others not included in the first schedule are grouped as five.

There are Two Types of Skilled Applicants

Offshore Visa Subclasses and Onshore Visa Subclasses where the applicants are categorized as below.

Onshore Visa: People who are in Australia with an eligible visa.
Off shore Visa: People who are not in Australia or are in Australia but not on a qualifying visa.
1. Skilled - Regional
2. Skilled - Sponsored
3. Skilled - Regional Sponsored
4. Skilled Recognised Graduate

The Australian Government considers managerial, professional, technical and trade occupations as skilled migrations as which have great values for the economy.

The applicant must qualify the basic requirements of the Visa process such as age, English language efficiency, occupation, skills, qualification, recent work experience, health and character.

1. Skilled - Regional

Clearing a skilled visa is quite challenging and the person needs to take up an assessment and the score a maximum point of 65.
The assessment score for the skilled independent visa applicants should be a minimum of 65 percentage. They need to ensure that they qualify the skill set of the jobs they apply and the specifications in the Skilled Occupation List (SOL).There is no necessity of Sponsorship for these skilled visa applicants and are considered as permanent Australian Residents.

Once a person is qualified for Skilled Visa he is considered as a permanent resident of Australia and empowered to enjoy the benefits such as, access to government-subsidized healthcare certain social security facilities and find a way to become eligible applicant who can claim for Australian citizenship.

2. Skilled - Sponsored

The individuals who fail to clear the assessment with a score of 65 percentage but quite capable to the requirements of the Skilled Occupational List (SOL) can avail the Skilled Sponsored Visa. The only restriction is that he/she needs to be either sponsored by an Australian relative or any of the State or Territory Government who participate in the skill set programs.
The sponsor must either be an
(a) an Australian citizen;
(b) an Australian permanent resident; or
(c) An eligible New Zealand citizen.
The applicant (or their spouse) must be related their sponsor as either:
(a) a non-dependent child - including a natural, adoptive or step-child;
(b) a parent - including adoptive or step-parent;
(c) a brother or sister - including adoptive or step-siblings;
(d) a niece or nephew - including adoptive or step-niece or nephew; or
(e) an aunt or uncle - including adoptive or step-aunt or uncle

3. Skilled Regional Sponsored Visa

This Visa is for a period of 3 years and the applicant must be prepared to work for two years. This also gives a path to become a permanent resident.

All of the above like the age, qualification skill set and when the assessment score is not met with 65 points then he can obtain a visa from his sponsor from residing in that region.

Australian Skilled Regional Sponsored Visa is a temporary visa which admits the holder and the family to live, work or study in a Specified Regional Area of Australia for three years of the Visa Time.

4. Skilled Recognized Graduate

This is for the engineering graduates which is valid for a period of 18 months from recognized universities The eligibility is an age limit of 18- 30, good English and health and Character.
This is just a small review about the recent changes and the overview of the Migration Process.

About Author / Additional Info:
The author is famous for writing articles on He has also written various articles on various other . For more information visit our site